---
title: "Preparing Mac or Macbook for Return (macOS Monterey)"
description: "macOS Monterey includes Erase All Content and Settings – a way to quickly and securely erase all of your settings, data and apps, while maintaining the operating system currently installed. If your Mac includes this feature when using macOS Monterey, use it instead of other utilities to erase your Mac."
canonical_url: "https://learn.nowcircular.com/articles/preparing-mac-or-macbook-for-return-macos-monterey-lb6b3kV06o"
md_url: "https://learn.nowcircular.com/articles/preparing-mac-or-macbook-for-return-macos-monterey-lb6b3kV06o.md"
---
# Preparing Mac or Macbook for Return (macOS Monterey)

macOS Monterey includes ***Erase All Content and Settings*** – a way to quickly and securely erase all of your settings, data and apps, while maintaining the operating system currently installed. If your Mac includes this feature when using macOS Monterey, use it instead of other utilities to erase your Mac.

\
Unsure which macOS your device is installed with? Click [this link](/articles/find-out-which-macos-your-mac-is-using-TvfF31kqTy) on steps to check the macOS. If you used Boot Camp to install Microsoft Windows, [use Boot Camp to remove Windows and its partition](https://support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/bootcamp-assistant/remove-windows-from-your-mac-using-boot-camp-bcmp59c41c31/mac) before continuing. Otherwise, you'll see a message explaining that other volumes need to be erased before you can erase all content and settings on this Mac. \n 

**Steps are as follow:**


 1. From the Apple menu  in the corner of your screen, choose System Preferences
 2. From the System Preferences menu in the menu bar, choose Erase All Content and Settings
 3. Erase Assistant opens and asks you to sign in with your administrator credentials. Enter the password you use to log in to your Mac, then click OK
 4. If you're asked to back up your Mac before resetting it, you can open Time Machine and back up to an external storage device. Or click Continue to proceed without making a new backup
 5. Click Continue to allow your settings, media, data and the other listed items to be removed
 6. If you're asked to sign out of Apple ID, enter your Apple ID password and click Continue
 7. Click Erase All Content & Settings to confirm that you want to proceed
 8. Your Mac restarts and shows a black screen or progress bar
 9. After loading, the Mac may prompt you to reconnect to a Bluetooth accessory, or connect to a WiFi connection
10. After joining a network, your Mac activates. Click Restart
11. After restart, a setup assistant guides you through the setup process, as if you're setting up your Mac for the first time. **You will not be required to complete the steps, just press and hold the power button on your Mac until it turns off**

\

---

\
### ==1. From the Apple menu  in the corner of your screen, choose System Preferences==

 ![](https://s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/aus-cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/51059727385/original/fENZkgV01AIGtTQAXcWQsUJ4ImWW9GYWYQ.png?1656390576 " =333x429")

\
### ==2. From the System Preferences menu in the menu bar, choose Erase All Content and Settings==

 ![](https://s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/aus-cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/51059728023/original/42YVWE1YC0p0nlpQKtxl-e_DMIpSGBdCIQ.png?1656390740 " =333x300")

\
### ==3. Erase Assistant opens and asks you to sign in with your administrator credentials. Enter the password you use to log in to your Mac, then click OK==

\
### ==4. If you're asked to back up your Mac before resetting it, you can open Time Machine and back up to an external storage device. Or click Continue to proceed without making a new backup==

 ![](https://s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/aus-cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/51059727797/original/WQxYChfjt1_x9BoW49VXsebJdY--iDrCXg.png?1656390679 " =333x250")

\
### ==5. Click Continue to allow your settings, media, data and the other listed items to be removed==

 ![](https://s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/aus-cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/51059727927/original/NhXDxUCPGQp4lG3knOqesCjGABSaLHH-Kg.png?1656390711 " =333x250")

\
### ==6. If you're asked to sign out of Apple ID, enter your Apple ID password and click Continue==

\
### ==7. Click Erase All Content & Settings to confirm that you want to proceed==

 ![](https://s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/aus-cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/51059727850/original/VGaSbksGGMFKnXUiGEZ0SQSn49lx6R_fRA.png?1656390694 " =333x250")

\
### ==8. Your Mac restarts and shows a black screen or progress bar==

\
### ==9. After loading, the Mac may prompt you to reconnect to a Bluetooth accessory, or connect to a WiFi connection==

\
### ==10. After joining a network, your Mac activates. Click Restart== ![](https://s3-ap-southeast-2.amazonaws.com/aus-cdn.freshdesk.com/data/helpdesk/attachments/production/51087812589/original/xn2z0GSPSAU03BF4DzAjmAdaWeg8IwGpaQ.png?1674962535 " =333x257")

\
### ==11. After restart, a setup assistant guides you through the setup process, as if you're setting up your Mac for the first time. You will not be required to complete the steps, just press and hold the power button on your Mac until it turns off==

\
